Tips For Parents of Spiritually-Gifted Children

I thought I would share with you the tips I have learned from my own experience of growing up with this gift, of being a parent of a gifted child, from talking with others about their own experiences as a child, and from talking with children who have come to me for guidance.

This is what I call my ‘BLAAS’ method of communicating with children:

Believe.

Please, please, do not accuse them of lying, having an overactive imagination, or making up  stories.

Listen.

Without interrupting. And hopefully without a shocked expression on your face!

Answer.

Answer their questions about what they’re experiencing the best way you know how. Be honest if you do not know the answers, and let them know you’ll work with them to find the answers. You can do research online, ask a friend or family member who is gifted, or even ask me.

Ask.

 Ask your child questions about what they’ve shared with you. In my previous post I shared some questions to ask, such as: Did (or does) it scare you? What did you say to him/her? And how do you feel about it?

There are many other questions you may ask, depending on how much your child has told you about their experience. Here are some more to help you out:

Was the spirit someone you know (such as a departed family member)? Did they say anything to you? Did you talk with them? Could you see the spirit clearly, or was it more of a shadow or outline of a person? Is there a message they want you to give to someone, or were they just here visiting?

Share.

If you, yourself, are able to see spirit, please let your child know that. It will become a special bond between the two of you, and deepen your parent/child connection.

I hope my guide has been able to help you. Please let me know if you have any questions.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Psychic Pharmacy Tech
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 18:17:32

    Thank you so much for following my blog and for providing this information on how to deal with children with gifts. Lord knows I can use all the advice I can get. It’s easy to forget about their little feelings and what they have going on when we are caught up in this crazy world.

    Reply

    • spiritwings1
      Jan 30, 2013 @ 19:19:06

      You’re most welcome! I really enjoyed reading your blog!

      Reply

      • Psychic Pharmacy Tech
        Feb 01, 2013 @ 02:05:03

        Thank you. I am so happy to have people here who are like minded to myself. I live in the South and most people I know would think I was crazy to hear these things.

      • spiritwings1
        Feb 03, 2013 @ 22:43:29

        I agree – it’s so comforting to have this circle of like-minded people who’s stories are very similar to yours. I am so happy to have actually followed my guides advice (finally!) and to ‘come out of the closet’ this year, as it were. I’m excited – and a bit scared, to be honest – as to what 2013 will bring. : )

  2. Mia - Lights of Clarity -
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 21:48:37

    This is a great post with great advice! Melissa Leath, the Go Between blog, is writing a book about children with gifts in case you’re interested in following her blog if you aren’t already. Thanks for the follow. 🙂

    Reply

  3. suburbanclairvoyant
    Feb 11, 2013 @ 20:40:18

    love this! I was just talking about this with a fellow TravelingPsychicSupperClub member this morning! We are discussing opening up some of the dinners to children, and this is a completely natural direction for our group to take as we serve adults with gifts – why not offer guidance to kids when they need it the most! – . Our kids are gifted, why not have them sit in with adults that are gifted that can serve as mentors and also show them what using your gifts in daily life looks like. Natural, right? Nice post!

    Reply

    • spiritwings1
      Feb 11, 2013 @ 22:00:17

      Thank you so much for liking my post! I am so happy that you’ll be opening up your gatherings to children at times. I have found that most children who are gifted are not given any direction or guidance from their parents. No blame being placed there….it’s that a lot of parents – for a variety of reasons – do not know what to do to help their child. I can only wish that as this shift is happening and we’ll be welcoming even more psychic children into this world, that more adults will be stepping up to help guide, direct and encourage them. It warms my heart that your group will be doing just that…..thank you, thank you, thank you.

      Reply

      • suburbanclairvoyant
        Feb 11, 2013 @ 22:03:44

        I totally agree about the more and more psychic children coming in. Everyone in the group now (adults) talk SO much about how they wish they had someone to talk to as a kid. So, perfect progression. Think of where we would be now if everyone could have had an adult “helper” or mentor – some kids are lucky to have an aunt or grandma that can relate, but rarely parents. Thank you for the encouragement on the inclusion of kids. Have a great day!

  4. ghostbusterbev
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 21:27:31

    My granddaughter sees spirits and we are able to share a lot about the World of Spirit and spirit communication. I agree, that it is very important for Crystal children to have someone to share with and who can also relate to their gifts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

